Akua Donkor And 11 Others Qualifies As Presidential Candidates, Fives Others Disqualified

post by: Collins for thedistin.com.
Have you got a story or article for us: send it to us here.

The Electoral Commission of Ghana has qualified 12 persons to contest as aspiring Presidential candidate and has disqualified 5 from the upcoming 2020 general election

The Electoral Commission of Ghana (EC), has given some 12 presidential aspirants the greenlight to contest in the upcoming 2020 general election on December 7.

In a report sighted on myjoyonline.com, the Chairperson for the Commission, Jean Mensa, made the announcement for the clearance and disqualification today, October 19, 2020.

This follows the submission of respective forms by presidential hopefuls ahead of the elections.

Speaking at the press conference in Accra, the EC boss indicated that a number of issues triggered the disqualification of 5 presidential candidates

To see the list of the candidates who were disqualified. Click here

Now cases that bother on allegations of forgery of signatures and manufacturing of endorsees will be forwarded to the Police Criminal Investigation Department (CID) for further probe.

Meanwhile, the EC explained that the GHC100,000 filing fee will be refunded to the said candidates in line with the rules surrounding the process.

However, 12 aspirants have been successfully cleared to contest the December Presidential Elections.

The 12 include Nana Akufo-Addo, John Mahama, Alfred Walker, Bridgitte Dzorgbenuku, Akua Donkor, Konadu Agyeman-Rawlings, Hassan Ayariga, Ivor Greenstreet, Kofi Akpaloo, David Apasera, and Henry Herbert Nartey.