Election 2020: Checkout The Total Votes Of All The 12 Presidential Candidates From All 16 Regions

post by: Dwomoh Darlingberg for thedistin.com.
Have you got a story or article for us: send it to us here.

Nana Addo secures second term in keenly contested election, total number of votes the 12 presidential candidates had from the 16 regions revealed.

Election 2020: 12 presidential candidates

After several collations of certified results from the 16 regions in Ghana, Nana Addo has been declared as the re elected president of Ghana.

Read Also: Nana Akufo Addo Declared As President By The EC Chairperson Mrs. Jean Mensah (Video)

Although this general election competition has been very close in terms of figures, a decision has been made by the EC based on certified percentages of the total vote cast.

The President, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has been given the nod to continue serving as Ghana’s President for the next four years.

Read Also: ‘Thank You Ghana For Voting 4More’ – Nana Addo Speaks After Winning The 2020 Presidential Seat

Nana Akufo-Addo, who led the New Patriotic Party into the December 7 polls, obtained 6,730,413 votes, representing 51.59% while the flagbearer of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), John Dramani Mahama placed second, garnering 6,214,889 which represents 47.36% of the total ballots cast.

This was announced by the Returning Officer of the 2020 presidential election, Jean Mensa, today, December 9, 2020.

Read Also: Election 2020: Full List Of Presidential Results

She said the figures exclude results from the Techiman South constituency.

Total valid votes cast, according to the Electoral Commission, was 13,434,574 representing 79% of total registered voters.

Read Also: This Is How Ghanaian Celebrities Reacted After EC Declared Nana Akufo-Addo Winner Of The 2020 Elections

The two candidates competed against each other for the first time in 2012, which was won by John Mahama.

Nana Akufo-Addo, however, defeated John Mahama in the 2016 general elections.

Read Also: This Is How People At Nana Addo’s Residence Reacted When The EC Named The NPP’s Flagbearer As The President Elect | Video

This will be the last time Nana Akufo-Addo will be facing off Mahama in an election, given that the former will be ineligible to contest in another election, having served two terms.

In all, 12 presidential candidates contested in the 2020 polls.

Read Also: ‘Sad Day For Ghana’ – John Dramani Mahama Says As He Speaks On Bullying After EC Declared Nana Addo As Winner | Video

The provisional results announced were:

Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo (NPP) – 6,730,413 (51.595%)

John Dramani Mahama (NDC) – 6,214,889 (47.366%)

Christian Kwabena Andrews (GUM) – 105,565 (0.805%)

Ivor Kobina Greenstreet (CPP) – 12,215 (0.093%)

Akua Donkor (GFP) – 5,575 (0.024%)

Henry Herbert Lartey (GCPP) – 3574 (0.027%)

Hassan Ayariga (APC) – 7,140 (0.054%)

Percival Kofi Akpaloo (LPG) – 7,690 (0.059%)

David Asibi Ayindenaba Apasera (PNC) – 10,887 (0.083%)

Brigitte Akosua Dzogbenuku (PPP) – 6,848 (0.052%)

Nana Konadu Agyeman-Rawlings (NDP) – 6,612 (0.050%)

Alfred Kwame Asiedu Walker (Independent candidate) – 9,703 (0.074%

So far, the GCPP’s Henry Herbert Lartey and LPG’s Kofi Akpaloo have all called President Nana Akufo-Addo to congratulate him for his victory.

Below is how challenging the results from all 16 regions was between president elect, Nana Addo and John Mahama:

Nana Addo and Mahama total votes