EC Releases The Official Number Of Seats Won By Political Parties In The 2020 Parliamentary Elections | Photo

post by: Dwomoh Darlingberg for
Have you got a story or article for us: send it to us here.

The Electoral Commission of Ghana headed by it’s chairperson, Mrs. Jean Mensa has finally dropped the number of seats that was won by NPP, NDC and Independent party.

The returning officer for the just-ended 2020 general election, Jean Mensa, has shared the official number of parliamentarians from the three parties on Thursday, December 10, 2020, on the official verified Twitter handle of the Electoral Commission.

Read Also: EC Makes Changes To The Presidential Results Declared By Jean Mensa After Admitting There Were Errors

From the post, the New Patriotic Party (NPP) had the majority in parliament this year with 137 MPs, the National Democratic Congress (NDC) had 136 MPs with the Independent Party having only 1 MP.

The post show columns and rows of the 16 regions in Ghana and the number seats won by the NDC and the NPP in corresponding with the constituencies.

Read Also: ‘You Killed To Take Power’ – Kevin Taylor Fumes After EC Declared Nana Addo As President-Elect | Video

Below is the post as shared by the EC:

See picture below:

EC Releases The Official Number Of Seats Won By Political Parties In The 2020 Parliamentary Elections | Photo

Declaration of the presidential result by the EC

EC Chairperson, Mrs Jean Mensa has declared Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo as the President of Ghana for the next four years.

Read Also: Emelia Brobbey Outdoors Her New Water Business – See All Her Companies And Ambassadorial Deals

This was after she announced the results of 274 out of 275 constituencies in the country, leaving out the Techiman South constituency.

According to the Electoral Commission, the total number of valid votes cast was 13,434,574 representing 79% of total registered voters.

Read Also: Video Of Sammy Gyamfi Walking With His Giant Bodyguard Pops Up, Ghanaians Shout

The sitting President, Akufo-Addo obtained 6,730,413 votes, representing 51.59% while his main contender, the flagbearer of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), John Dramani Mahama followed suite with 6,214,889, representing 47.36% of the total ballots cast.

Read Also: Sad Scenes From Mahama’s Office After Losing The Election (Video)

Christian Kwabena Andrews, the flagbearer of the Ghana Union Movement (GUM) placed third in the race, garnering 105,565 votes, representing 0.80% of the total ballots cast.