Breaking News: Alban Bagbin Elected As Speaker Of Parliament And Fomena MP To Be One Of The Deputy Speakers

Former Member of Parliament (MP) for Nadowli Kaleo Constituency and Second Deputy Speaker of the 7th Parliament, Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin, has been elected Speaker for the 8th Parliament of the Fourth Republic.

It had been a marathon of confusion on the floor of Parliament right from the dissolution of the 7th Parliament through to the election of a new speaker for the 8th Parliament.

Read Also: Hohoe MP, John Peter Amewu Nearly ‘Beaten’ By Angry NDC MPs For Asking Them To Vacate From The Majority Seats | Photos

An election process, which started moments after 12:00am January 7, ran through the dawn to about 6:00am.

The provisional results suggest that the National Democratic Congress (NDC) side of the House beat the New Patriotic Party (NPP) side with three votes to put Mr. Bagbin ahead of the immediate past Speaker of Parliament, Prof. Aaron Mike Oquaye, who was re-nominated by the NPP caucus.

Bagbin is a member of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) and had represented the Nadowli Kaleo Constituency in the Upper West Region in Parliament seven consecutive times.

Read Also: Fomena MP Joins The NPP At The Ongoing Dissolution Of The 7th Parliament And Inauguration Of 8th Parliament Of Ghana’s 4th Republic | Photos

He did not contest last year’s elections.

Also, information gathered by suggests that the Fomena MP Andrews Amoako Asiamah will be one of the deputy speaker of Parliamen thus second deputy speaker of Parliament.

post by: Atta-Mafu Joshua for
Have you got a story or article for us: send it to us here.

Share this post;

— Browse New Stories —