2023 VGMA: List of Winners, Fashion and Performances

post by: FrvrKay for thedistin.com.
Have you got a story or article for us: send it to us here.

The 24th edition of the Vodafone Ghana Music Awards was hosted at the Grand Arena, Accra International Conference, and how entertaining of a night was it?

The much-awaited 6th May night by Charterhouse saw Berla Mundi, Naa Ashorkor and James Gardiner as the hosts, keeping patrons hyped and the entire auditorium cosy.

Here’s everything that happened at this year’s VGMA.

Performances: Video Of Event

The night started straight to church with a live band performance by gospel musician Piesie Esther, followed by Kidi doing 3 songs, other artists that took the stage to entertain patrons were DSL (unsung artist of the year), Epixode, Lasmid, Gyakie, King Promise, Kwabena Kwabena, Medikal, Ofori Amponsah Pheelz from Nigeria,

Black Sherrif’s electrifying performance no doubt took moved the crowd like no other performance, performing his hit songs back to back, from Konongo Zongo to Paradise to Soja…

Red Carpet Photos

Fiifi Coleman and Chrystal Kwame-Aryee took charge of the red carpet as hosts admiring and sharing what your favourite celebrities wore to this year’s VGMA

The event saw celebs and industry players dripping in style and swag all over.

…not forget to mention DJ Azonto’s “Cinderella” dress that got the whole of Ghana talking.

See more red-carpet photos here.


Blacko, Black Sheriff came out as the ultimate winner of the 2023 VGMA.

Here’s the full list of winners of the 2023 Vodafone Ghana Music Awards, VGMA.

Artiste of the Year

Black Sherif – WINNER
King Promise
Piesie Esther
Joe Mettle

Gospel Song of the Year

Celestine Donkor
Piesie Esther – Waye me yie – WINNER
Diana Hamilton
Joe Mettle
Perez Musik
Bethel Revival Ministries
Ewurabena and MOG Music.

Best Male Vocal Performance

Kyei Mensah
Perez Muzik – WINNER
King Promise

Best Female Vocal Performance

Piese Esther
Niella – WINNER
Cina Soul

Best Hiplife Song

Medikal – Stubborn Academy
Jay Bahd – Anadwo
DJ Breezy – Abonten ft Kwesi Authur, Mugeez, Stonebwoy, Black Sherif & Smallgod
Amerado – Grace ft Lasmid
Lasmid – Friday Night – WINNER
Kweku Flick – Ewiase

Best Hip Hop Song

Amerado – Obiaa Boa
Sarkodie – Country Side ft. Black Sherif
Malcom Nuna – Benzo
Kwesi Authur – Drama
Black Sherif – Kweku the Traveler – WINNER
Medikal – Scarface

Collaboration of the Year

FBS – Jo ft Mr Drew
Sarkodie – Country side ft Black Sherif – WINNER
Epixode – Atiaa ft Kwabena Kwabena
Amerado – Grace ft Lasmid
DJ Breezy – Abonten ft Kwesi Authur, Mugeez, Stonebwoy, Black Sherif & Smallgod
Bethel Revival Choir ft Edwin Dadson – Tegbe Tegbe
Sarkodie – Labadi ft King Promise

International Collaboration of the Year

Kidi – Touch it ft Tyga
King Promise – Ten Toes ft Omah Lay
Kidi – Blessed ft Mavado
Camidoh – Sugarcane rmx ft King Promise & Mayokun – WINNER
MzVee – Dumebi ft Yemi Alade
King Promise – Run to you ft Chance the Rapper & Vic Mensa
Sarkodie – Better days ft Buju

Best Afropop Song

Wendy Shay – Survivor
Black Sherif – Oil in my head
Dopenation – Gboza
King Promise – Ten toes ft Omah Lay
Kuami Eugene – Take away
Stonebwoy – Therapy – WINNER
Kidi – Blessed ft Movado
Fameye – Thank you

Producer of the Year

Shadrach Yawson
Guilty Beatz
Mog Beatz – WINNER
Kill Beatz
Liquid Beatz

Best Afrobeats Song

Gyakie – Something
Kidi – Champagne
Djay – Balance it
King Promise – Ginger
Camidoh – Sugarcane rmx ft King Promise & Mayokun – WINNER
FBS – Jo ft King Promise

Best Reggae/Dancehall Song

Konkara Jahvybz – A Go dey ft Kelvyn Boy
Raskuuku – 33N1
Epixode – Atia – WINNER
Black Sherif – Don’t forget me
Rocky Dawuni – Never Bow Down ft Blvk H3ro
Maccasio – Eyes on you ft Stonebwoy

Best Music Video

Stonebwoy – Therapy
Piesie Esther – Waye me yie
Stonebwoy – Gidigba
Black Sherif – Konogo Zongo – WINNER
Sarkodie – Labadi ft King Promise
Kidi – Touch it remix ft Tyga
Scott Evans – Best Side
Kwabena Kwabena – Afraid to lose you

Lifetime Achiever

Abrekyieba Chief Kofi Sammy – WINNER

Best African Artiste

Arya Star
Asake – WINNER
Kizz Daniel
The Therapist

Best Highlife Song

Epixode – Atia ft Kwabena Kwabena
AK Songstress – My Proposal
Adina – Adi Dede
Kwesi Authur – Adom
Kelvyn Boy – Down flat -WINNER
Kofi Kinata – Have Mercy

Best Afrobeats/Afropop Artiste

King Promise – WINNER
Wendy Shay
Kelvyn Boy

Songwriter of the Year

Piesie Esther – Waye me yie
Black sheriff – GH Paradise
Perez Muzik – Hewale lala – WINNER
Fameye – Thank You
Diana Hamilton – My Meditation
Ewurabena – This Far

Best Highlife Artiste

Kuami Eugene
Kofi Kinata – WINNER

Best Gospel Artiste

Joe Mettle
Perez Muzik
Diana Hamilton
Piesie Esther – WINNER
Celestine Donkor
MOG Music

Best Hiplife/ Hiphop Artiste

Black Sherif
Sarkodie – WINNER
Kwesi Authur

Best Reggae/ Dancehall Artiste

Rocky Dawuni
Stonebwoy – WINNER

Best Rap Performance

Medikal – Scarface
Strongman – Goated
Amerado – Obiaa boa – WINNER
Lyrical Joe – 5th August 6
Teephlow – 6feet

Record of the Year

King Promise – Yaa Asantewaa ft Frenna
Adomaa – Beginning Again
Perez Muzik – Hewale lala
Stonebwoy – Therapy
Sarkodie – Country Side ft Black Sherif
Gyakie – Far away – WINNER

Best New Artiste

Lasmid – WINNER
Malcom Nuna
Jay Bhad
Dj Azonto
Chief One

Album/EP of the Year

Black Sherif – The Villain I Never Was
Sarkodie – Jamz
Gyakie – My Diary
King Promise – 5 Star – WINNER
Kwesi Authur – Son of Jacob
Joe Mettle – The Kadosh

Vodafone Green Award

Worlasi – WINNER

Vodafone Most Popular Song of the Year

Camidoh – Sugarcane rmx ft King Promise & Mayokun
Sarkodie – Country Side ft Black Sherif
Black Sherif – Kweku the traveller – WINNER
Lasmid – Friday Night
Kelvyn Boy – Down flat
Gyakie – Something
Wendy Shay – Survivor
Kidi – Blessed ft. Mavado
Stonebwoy – Therapy
Piesie Esther – Waye me yie